High Impact Educational Practices

George Kuh’s “high impact” educational practices in higher education are described and explored in his publication High-Impact Educational Practices:  What They Are, Who Has Access to Them, and Why They Matter (Association of American Colleges and Universities, 2008).  A brief overview of Kuh’s ideas can be found at http://www.aacu.org/leap/hips.  The ten practices are listed below with links to pages on this Online Instructional Resources site that lead to further examination and application of his ideas.

First-Year Seminars and Experiences
Freshman Seminars http://fod.msu.edu/oir/freshman-seminars
First-Year Students http://fod.msu.edu/oir/first-year-students

Common Intellectual Experiences
Learning Communities http://fod.msu.edu/oir/learning-communities
Freshman Seminars  http://fod.msu.edu/oir/freshman-seminars
Integrative Learning http://fod.msu.edu/oir/integrative-learning
Interdisciplinary Teaching and Learning http://fod.msu.edu/oir/interdisciplinary-teaching-and-learning

Learning Communities
Learning Communities   http://fod.msu.edu/oir/learning-communities

Writing-Intensive Courses
Writing Across the Curriculum/Using Writing/Designing Writing Assignments http://fod.msu.edu/oir/writing-across-curriculumusing-writing-designing-writing-assignments

See especially the following two resources for information on designing and teaching writing-intensive courses in any area of study:

1. “Teaching Writing Across the Curriculum, Third Edition,” by Art Young.
This entire book by a well-respected leader in the field of writing across the curriculum is available online in PDF format. Offers a comprehensive guide to faculty who teach a “writing-intensive” course in their discipline or who decide to include student writing in their courses.
http://wac.colostate.edu/books/young_teaching/

2. WAC Clearinghouse (Colorado State University).
A comprehensive mega-site drawing together scholarship and resources for all aspects of Writing Across the Curriculum.  Contains links to online articles, books, and peer-reviewed resources supporting the use of writing in courses across the disciplines.
http://wac.colostate.edu/index.cfm

Collaborative Assignments and Projects
Cooperative/Collaborative/Team Learning http://fod.msu.edu/oir/cooperativecollaborativeteam-learning

Undergraduate Research
Undergraduate Research http://fod.msu.edu/oir/undergraduate-research

Diversity/Global Learning
Inclusive Teaching Methods http://fod.msu.edu/oir/inclusive-teaching-methods
Incorporating Multicultural Content into Your Teaching http://fod.msu.edu/oir/incorporating-multicultural-content-your-teaching
Teaching for Diverse Populations http://fod.msu.edu/oir/teaching-diverse-populations

See also the following two rubrics for assessing cultural understanding:

1.  Intercultural Knowledge and Competence VALUE Rubric
https://www.aacu.org/value/rubrics/intercultural-knowledge

2.  Civic Knowledge and Engagement—Local and Global-- VALUE Rubric
https://www.aacu.org/civic-engagement-value-rubric

Service Learning, Community-Based Learning
Service-Learning http://fod.msu.edu/oir/service-learning
Experiential/Out-of-Class Learning http://fod.msu.edu/oir/experientialout-class-learning

Internships
College internships are designed to provide students with a direct learning experience related to their career interests.  A form of experiential learning, they can include supervision and coaching from professionals in the field.  See the following site for guidelines and examples of good practice in experiential learning.
http://fod.msu.edu/oir/experientialout-class-learning

Capstone Courses and Projects
Capstone Courses http://fod.msu.edu/oir/capstone-courses
Student Portfolios http://fod.msu.edu/oir/student-portfolios